I have been following a discussion of iedefender at CastleCops which is five pages long so far.
The topic started with: "Attached below is a copy of IEdefender (hxxp://www.iedefender.com/) a new rogue software." To which the vendor replied:
iedefender: "Hello, we’re developers of IEDefender, our software is clean and is real antispyware. As we can see, people from your site send our exe to different antivirus and antispyware companies, trying to black PR our company. They’ve got answers, that our soft is clean, because IT IS CLEAN! We contacted Kaspersky, they also confirmed, there are no problems with our software, you can check our .exe with any popular antiviruses, there no problems! Stop sending your detractive mails and messages, in other case we would be forced to send all information to our lawyers and meet your representative in the court, where it would be very hard for you to prove, that our software is not real, because IT’S REAL ANTISPYWARE!"
nosirrah to iedefender: "Since you want to respond lets make this as cut and dry as possible . Here is a list of issues you need to address . Answer each question directly with no obscenities and no name calling.
1. When will the fake codec site on your server stop advertising your software ?
2. Why does your home page contain text directly copied from other well known rogues ?
3. Why did you choose hosting that is well known for hosting hundreds of other rogue applications ?
4. When will you take the plagiarized content from NOD32 off of your home page ?
5. When will you give credit to the sources of the plagiarized content in your forum ?"
I won't hold my breath.
As Alex said, thanks PG.